My journey towards empathy


Those who know me would attest that I am not emotionally smart. But they would also know that I have been working (really hard) on it.

This is a bit premature, but I have written down some of the things that have helped me grow and morph into a better person.

So here’s what I’ve learned so far:

Honesty without tact is cruelty.
Good choice of words makes all the difference.

More than being a complainer, be a doer. Don’t present a problem you don’t have a solution to. This would definitely make your work 100 times lighter.

Compliment. Praise people for their good deeds rather than just pointing out mistakes. Even just a tap on the back or a “good job today” goes a long way.

Communication is key: say what you mean, and mean what you say. There are things that are better left unsaid, and there things that are even better (or best) when said. Remember, a hungry baby who doesn’t cry will never get his milk.

Smiling radiates happiness. This has been really a good challenge for me, given that I have a chronic resting bitch face. So yes, as clichรฉ as this may go, but a smile is the best accessory. It never wears out.

Don’t be afraid to try new things.
The things outside your comfort zone are limitless. You will never know how much you can do if you don’t try out something new. It’s better to look back saying, wow I can’t believe I’ve done that. Rather than saying, damn, I wish I did that.

Be patient, tolerant and kind. Most of the times, it’s better to be kind than right. This is pretty much self explanatory, but perhaps the hardest to do.

Learn to let go. It’s never okay to settle with mediocrity. But in life, flexibility is essential. Learn to let go of that urge to make everything close to perfection. It’s okay. Breathe in. Breathe out.

Acknowledge how you feel.
It’s the first step towards personal growth. Know where you stand. Then map out what to do to get from where you are to where you want to be.

Traveling is good for the soul. Enumerating the reasons why should merit a new blog post, but then again it is a known fact that doesn’t need more supporting claims. It simply teaches you so much about the world. It makes you a better person. So please, travel as much as you can. You owe it to yourself.

P.S.
I will be adding more as I go along my journey. This is a work in progress, and so am I.

Leave a Reply

